Centers for Cultural Understanding and Social Change

Video credit: AARCC, 2016

The Centers for Cultural Understanding and Social Change (CCUSC)—previously the Centers for Diversity—constitutes seven autonomous and collaborating units in the Office of Diversity under Academic Affairs. The Centers include the African-American Cultural Center, Arab American Cultural Center, Asian American Resource and Cultural Center, Disability Resource Center, Gender and Sexuality Center, Rafael Cintrón Ortiz Latino Cultural Center, and Women’s Leadership and Resource Center. The CCUSC are committed to positive social change grounded in the principles of inclusion, access, and equity. Our collective purpose is to expand understanding of the value of cultural diversity and connect diverse assets to find creative solutions for common challenges. This collective purpose draws upon the Centers’ expertise in scholarship and practice to provide relevant support to our specific populations on campus and opportunities for intercultural engagement among students, faculty, staff, and Chicago communities. To learn more about the CCUSC, check out their websites:

Collaborative Initiatives:

Timely Announcements: